Scholarship Winners

The Medical Alumni Foundation offers over 60 scholarships and awards for medical students, many of which are endowed and named by their donors. Criteria vary and may be based on merit, financial need, or donor criteria.  

Congratulations to all our 2019 award recipients!

Click HERE to RSVP for the 2019 Scholarship Presentation Ceremony on Friday, Sept. 20, 2019 beginning at 5:00 pm.

Named Scholarships


Nathan and Ada August Memorial Scholarship

Alison M. Rosser ($1,000)


A. Geno Andreatta Scholarship
Joshua N. Moss ($3,000)


Benjamin N., Mollie P., Gerson H. '57 and Martin W. Aronovitz, MD '65 Memorial Scholarship
Alice Chu ($1,900)


Stanley A. August, MD Memorial Scholarship

Joshua T. Drake ($1,000)


The Ayanian Family Scholarship (endowed by Zaven S. Ayanian, MD '59)
Laura K. Rein ($12,500)


Theresa Baltera Memorial Scholarship
Joseph F. Toth ($1,700)


N. Barry Berg, PhD Scholarship for Musculoskeletal Medicine

David A. DiStefano ($2,200)


The Martin Black Family Scholarship (endowed by Drs. Martin, Gerald, Michael and Robert Black)
Steven A. Aziz ($1,700)


Elliot Brandwein, MD '67 and Arlene Eckstein Brandwein, MD '68 Scholarship

Michael V. DePasquale ($21,000)


The Sharon A. Brangman, MD '81 Award/Scholarship in Geriatrics
Leanne E. Grafmuller ($1,000)


Bernard J. Burke, MD '43 Scholarship
Sara-Ann E. Fox ($1,200)


Leonard D. Carpenter, MD '33 and Ruth E. Carpenter Memorial Scholarship
Joshua P. Senter ($2,500)


Douglas (Ed Ben-Edison) Cox, MD '63 Scholarship
Ryan M. Thibodeau ($1,800)


Edwin T. Dailey, MD '68 Memorial Scholarship in Radiology
Daniel D. Nguyen ($1,700)


The Dracker Family Scholarship
Nicholas A. Puoplo ($2,500)

Joseph S. DeRaddo ($2,500)


Robert Eitches, MD '78 Scholarship in Honor of Shirley and Irving Eitches
Michelle L. Baker ($2,200)


Alfred F. and Shirley D. Enwright Endowed Scholarship (endowed by Michael O'Leary, MD '78 and Colleen Enwright O'Leary, MD '78)
Ayesha S. Ropri ($1,700)


Joseph C. Fischer, MD '79 Memorial Scholarship
Patrick O. Curtin ($5,800)


Medical Alumni Foundation Founders Scholarship
Adham M. Alifarag ($1,500)


Sarah Loguen Fraser, MD, Class of 1876, Scholarship
Zacharia H. Mohamed ($7,000)


The Friendship Scholarship in Honor of Ernest Found, MD '80, in Memory of his wife, Ellyn Slocum Found, and his daughter, Caroline Slocum Found
Sydney H. Russell-Leed ($2,500)


Joseph J. Gadbaw, MD 12/'43 and Ann Gadbaw Scholarship
Michelle L. Baker ($1,800)


Max Gara and Robert H. Gara, MD '56 Scholarship
Alexandra S. France ($5,800)


Suzan and Philip M. Gaynes, MD '63 Scholarship
Joshua P. Senter ($2,700)


Samuel Gersten, MD '39 and Martha Gersten Endowed Scholarship
Kathryn A. Zuchowski ($6,000)

Benjamin P. Meath ($6,000)

John H. Fountain ($6,000)

Kevin J. Sexton ($6,000)


Jerome C. Goldstein, MD '63 and Rochelle Goldstein Scholarship
Amanda L. Gemmiti ($1,200)


Frances A. Harmatuk, MD '41 Geriatric Scholarship
Nainita K. Madurai ($2,800)


Edward F. Higgins, MD '78 Scholarship

Danielle E. Faivus ($4,300)

Grant Hobika, MD '52 Scholarship
William E. Borchert ($500)


Robert V.P. Hutter, MD '54 and Ruth L. Hutter Scholarship
Ian C. Boor ($1,400)


Kasten Aker Family Scholarship

Thomas A. Bedard ($1,500)


E. Gregory Keating, PhD Memorial Scholarship
John H. Fountain ($600)


Martha S. Kincaid, MD Scholarship
James W. Assif ($5,000)


Sonya A. LaBella Memorial Scholarship
Adham M. Alifarag ($1,900)


Stanley D. Leslie, MD '51 Memorial Scholarship
Birx F. Nolan ($18,000)


The Lynch Family Scholarship
Sarah E. Marschall ($2,400)


Alphonse A. Maffeo, MD '72 Scholarship
Allen Hoste ($1,400)


B. Dale Magee, MD '75 Scholarship
Larissa A. Raymond ($3,700)


Angeline R. Mastri, MD '59 Scholarship

Dawn B. Lammert ($5,000)


Patrick T. Mathews, MD '03 Memorial Scholarship
Daniel F. Farrell ($3,300)


James L. McGraw, MD '41 Scholarship
Jamie M. Cohen ($1,400)


Gustave P. Milkey, MD '43 and Janet B. Milkey Merit Scholarship
Taylor J. Furst ($1,400)


Peggy and Adolph Morlang, MD '66 Scholarship
Giovanna S. Deluca ($6,000)


Rudolph J. Napodano, MD '59 Scholarship
Michael R. Grodsky ($9,400)


Sam and Carol Nappi Endowed Scholarship

Sara-Ann E. Fox ($4,500)


Patricia J. Numann, MD '65 Endowed Scholarship

Ogochukwu M. Ezeoke ($2,700)


Onondaga County Medical Society (OCMS) Medical Student Scholarship
Joseph F. Toth ($6,900)


Betty Reiss, MD '68 and Jacob Reiss, MD '68 Family Endowed Scholarship
Caroline J. Shank ($4,300)


Esther and Monroe Richman, MD '55 Scholarship
Dion DePra ($1,400)


Sanders/Kilkelly Scholarship
Azfar Basunia ($5,400)


The Schein Family Scholarship
Matthew F. Barra ($1,600)


Jack J. Schneider, MD '66 Scholarship
Shirley Jin ($2,700)


Julius Schwartz, MD '33 Scholarship
Michael R. Grodsky ($3,500)


The Setnor Family Endowed Scholarship (endowed by Rose and Jules R. Setnor, MD '35 and Stanford S. Setnor, MD '42)

Christina M. Delnero ($46,000)


The Ara A. Sheperdigian, MD Memorial Scholarship

Michael A. Bova ($5,000)


John B. and Henrietta E. Simeone Scholarship in Memory of Fiorindo A. Simeone, MD
Michael J. Danaher ($5,600)


Frederick W. Sloan, MD '74 Scholarship
Xiancheng Wu ($1,300)


Susan B. Stearns, PhD Scholarship for Community Engagement
Ryan S. Alden ($1,000)

Colleen S. Fei ($1,000)


Ralph Stevens, MD '81 Madison-Oneida County Scholarship
Michelle L. Baker ($1,000)

Alec G. Miller ($1,000)

Alison D. Stedman ($1,000)

Rosemary Stevens, MD Annual Scholarship (endowed by Thomas Stevens, MD '65 in Memory of his mother)
Shun Yan Leung ($1,000)

Kadeen S. Forrest ($1,000)

Luisa F. Ortiz ($1,000)

Neveada Raventhiranathan ($1,000)

Angus Yuen ($1,000)

Marc A. Subik, MD '79 Family Scholarship
Jessica M. Hassan ($1,600)


The Swift Family Legacy Grants
Natalie C. Wagaman ($10,000)

Alexander A. Paley ($10,000)

Scott Y. Tseng ($10,000)

Fatmata Bah ($10,000)

Michael J. Sherburne ($10,000)


Dr. Oscar and Mrs. Luba Trief Memorial Scholarship
Lauren T. MacNeill ($1,000)


Barbara and Harold H. Wanamaker, MD '56 Scholarship
Craig A. Pille ($2,500)


Andrew D. Weinberg, MD '78 Memorial Geriatric Scholarship
Daniel S. Tylee ($1,700)


Herbert M. Weinman, MD '65 and Suzy Weinman Scholarship Award
Daniel F. Farrell ($10,000)


Weiskotten Scholar

Danielle E. Clifford (full tuition, room & board)


Susan and Jack Yoffa, MD '69 in Memory of Elaine Yoffa Hornung Scholarship
Daniela A. Marshall ($2,000)


Leanne and Frank E. Young, MD '56 Scholarship
Ryan S. Alden ($4,100)

Amanda L. Gemmiti ($2,000)

Phillip W. Hwang ($1,000)

Philip T. Skummer ($1,000)


Class Scholarships

Class of 1966 Scholarship
Eric J. Miller ($5,000)


Class of 1971 Scholarship
Katherine C. Frega ($1,500)

Carol Kavanaugh and Class of 1973 Scholarship

Jaimie L. Rogner ($2,500)

Class of 1977 Scholarship

Phillip G. Sander ($1,000)



Student Citizen Awards
($1,000 awarded to each student)

Class of 2019
Jessica M. Hassan

Emily F. Malavenda


Class of 2020
Ryan S. Alden

Hannah M. Connolly

Derek T. Friedman


Class of 2021
Amanda N. Balch

Amanda E. Kaley

Katherine M. Bunch


Nightingale Scholars

Natalie L. Antosh ($1,000)

Megan A. Harris ($1,000)

Nia S. Jagroop ($1,000)

Kywanna M. Alfred ($1,000)

Dan A. Lichtenstein ($1,000)

Christine Marcelus ($1,000)

Alumni Scholars

Elizabeth A. Apraku

Elana C. Cook

Megan R. Carey

Jerry M. Cuenca

Ian C. Boor

Nefertiti N. Tyehemba

Stephanie Cortes

Richard Jean-Louis

Amanda A. Ghanie

Sudie Ann Robinson

Gabrielle J. Sagesse

Jaimie L. Rogner

Zachary T. Farina

Chelsie L. Jacques

Amylisa M. Christophe

Nicolette C. Nunez




Facebook Twitter flickr YouTube

Upstate Medical Alumni Foundation

Setnor Academic Building #1510
750 East Adams Street
Syracuse, NY 13210

Phone: (315) 464-4361
Fax: (315) 464-4360

Alumni Supporting Future Alumni